Positive Thinking after Trauma of #Execution of #TroyDavis

Like many of you, I had signed petitions and called and wrote letters urging justice in the case of the murder of Mark MacPhail. I believed that justice could in no way be served by executing Troy Davis.

I’ve spent most of my life in Georgia, and I had some belief that, somewhere along the line, politicians at some level would stop this execution. I was working the night of the execution, so I did not attend the vigil in Augusta, my home town.

When I returned home from work, I was shocked that the state went through with it. I was watching Democracy Now’s live coverage from outside the prison where the execution took place. I saw a friend who spoke on behalf of Georgians for Alternatives to the Death Penalty. I got a Facebook update from a friend who had been arrested in Atlanta at the vigil there protesting the execution. I saw spokespeople of national organizations and a lawyer who represented Troy.

Almost immediately, I had a physical reaction from this stress. I slept despite the headache, but awoke early this morning.

And I awoke angry and frustrated.

I usually hate the positive-thinking types who represent themselves as “civic boosters” when they really just want to get their hands in the city coffers. But the theory is correct. Religion is correct in that regard. We must have faith to keep from destroying ourselves. We have to get up and do something good, even if we just want to lie in a dark room and not do anything.

May God have mercy on Mark MacPhail and Troy Davis. May God grant both families patients to endure their losses. May God bring some measure of justice in this case by making its truth clear in this world. I believe that justice will be done in the next world, both to the murderer of Officer MacPhail and to those politicians and officials who push executions as a means of claiming some misguided notion of police loyalty and a means of gaining votes. And all of you who applaud this pro-death penalty politicians should reconsider your ways as well.

Today, with the help of God, I am going to be better.

Leave a Reply

