Was an Increase in Liability Insurance Premiums an Example of Structural Racism?

Around 2000, I moved from one apartment complex to another in Indianapolis. I had liability coverage, the lowest permissible level of car insurance while I lived in Indiana.

My premium increased when I moved. When I asked my insurance company (Allstate), the representative told me that the state regulatory agency allowed this price increase based on my new zip code.

If I had comprehensive coverage, I perhaps could understand a premium increase (although I felt as safe in both locations). But why should a change in zip code result in an increase in premium for automobile liability coverage?

A higher percentage of the residents near my new apartment were African-Americans. Is my experience an example of structural racism?

I thought about this after reading Cathy O’Neil’s Weapons of Math Destruction: How Big Data Increases Inequality and Threatens Democracy.

Leave a comment